Non-penetration reel use

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sillygrendel

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
This weekend I did my first wreck dive off NC (The Proteus). I saw something rather curious so I thought I'd ask opinions...

It seems from talking to a few people who regularly dive off MD that attaching a reel near the anchor line in poor vis is common practice. This makes sense to me.

The vis on this dive was great. (60' or better?) and there was a little bit of a current. Now I'm not an expert in diving in current but it wasn't anything I couldn't make headway against with a bit of effort, of course much easier near the bottom.

One of the guys diving attached a reel to the wreck so he wouldn't get "blown away". My diving experience is pretty limited, but this didn't seem like such a good idea to me:

1. It could cause an entanglement hazard flapping in the breeze

2. If you were actually blown off I doubt the line would hold. It almost certainly wouldn't hold enough for you to pull yourself back to the anchor.

3. Its something else to worry about, and doesn't appear to solve any problems.

It make most sense to me if you're blown off a wreck to shoot a surface marker and ascend up the line.

Thoughts?

I guess there are three main uses I saw for a reel: Penetration, very poor vis, shooting up SMBs (I prefer a spool).

Anyone use one for other purposes?