Gear Help for Cold Water.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

redblanket

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm a newbie, and I am very interested in purchasing my own gear. I'll be diving mostly in Newfoundland year round, which is obviously pretty cold. I've done some looking at scubatoys.com and am impressed with their prices, and prompt replies through email - this is what I have narrowed it down to - please let me know if the gear I'm looking at is decent and feel free to offer any other suggestions (keeping in mind, I'd like to keep this at a reasonable price)

BCD/REG/OCTO/COMPUTER
Mares Epic BCD
Mares Brigade Viper Octo
Tusa SCA-343
Tusa RS-130
for 790.00
OR
Mares Limited Edition Morphos Metal Tech BCD BC
Mares Limited Edition Metal Tech Regulator
Mares Brigade Viper Octo
Mares RGBM AirLab Computer
for 1248 (and a free pair of mares quattro fins)

DRYSUIT:
Whites Nexus II Dry Suit Package (699.99)
or
Bare Nex-Gen Mens Drysuit Package (499.99)

With the tusa package and white suit, I could get it to my door for 1400.

Does this sound good? What are your opinions on the gear? Any help would be much appreciated!! And what else should I be looking for?

Thanks!
gb

redblanket:
Hi guys,