Differences between an 18-70 (set at 60mm) and a 60mm macro?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AUTiger

Contributor
Reaction score
I'm new to dSLR cameras, having just bought my first (Nikon D80) and my first lenses (18-135 kit lense and a 60mm macro). I don't totally understand the differences between the styles of lenses.

Today's question is what is the difference between an 18-70 zoom lens zoomed out to 60mm and a dedicated 60mm macro lens?

Zoom:

Aperature of f/3.5-4.5
Minimum focus distance of 15"
Magnification (I guess at 70mm) of 1:6.2
Angle of view is 76 to 22 degrees

Macro:

Aperature of f/2.8
Minimum focus distance of 8.8"
Magnification of 1:1
Angle of view is 39 degrees

In writing this, I guess I've mostly answered my own question. A focal length of 60mm does not give the same results between the two lenses. Even at maximum magnification, the zoom still only gives 1:6.2, not even close to 1:1.

In real world applications, how small of a creature can I take a picture of with the zoom lense? With the macro, I can go as small as I wish, particularly with teleconverters or extension tubes (still learning about those - saw another thread about that topic).

Thanks for your comments and feedback. I think that an 18-70 lense will be my next purchase. I'm not ready to commit to a 12-24. My father-in-law is planning on buying one of those and he will lend it to me if needed. He also has a 105 macro. The 18-70 looks to be very practical for land and see.

David

what you should do is practice!