Hi everyone from cold Indiana! [Archive] - ScubaBoard - Scuba Diving Forum - Diving Social Network

View Full Version : Hi everyone from cold Indiana!

Sponsored Link

jeepchick
December 8th, 2006, 12:10 PM
Hi everyone! I'm new to diving, just finished my OW class a few weeks ago, have not done the checkout dives yet (it's 8 degrees here today). I hope to go to Florida in January to do checkout dives and possibly AOW too at the same time. My goal is to become an instructor, at the least a DM. I fell in love with diving the first time in the pool, have now purchased my own equipment and am looking for opportunities to dive around here and in other places. I'm a stay home mom of 3 kids, have worked in the medical field and was a firefighter/EMT for 8 years. We love adventure, running races, snow skiing, travel so diving is great for me! I can get away any time to dive so would love to meet others in my area to dive with. I would love to dive with experienced people as I think that's the best way to learn! Look forward to hearing from other divers as I will take any advice I can get!

Diving Doc
December 8th, 2006, 12:19 PM
8 degrees!!!! luxury. Thats the water temp here at the mo!!!!

welcome to the board and good luck with the instructor plan. Anything i can do...just pm me!!

Most important peice of advice i can give u is this....don't get hung up doing course after course, make sure you get lots of fun in too and make sure that you buy equipment thats gonna last and support you for strenuous diving as an instructor.!

eckybay
December 8th, 2006, 12:49 PM

Welcome to the board from the state next door!

I'm betting jeepchick means it's 8 degrees Fahrenheit, not Celsius
(8 degree Fahrenheit = -13.3333333 degree Celsius)

Diving Doc
December 8th, 2006, 12:53 PM
I'm betting jeepchick means it's 8 degrees Fahrenheit, not Celsius
(8 degree Fahrenheit = -13.3333333 degree Celsius)

ouch....in that case you win!!! oh the humanity!!!!:shakehead

SCUBAJENNIFER