Only Specific Hoses to First Stage?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

talonraid

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I'm no gear expert, so I thought I would post this qeustion here.

Will most Octo/console hoses connect to most Reg first stages? An employee of a LDS told me that only specific brands of Octos and console hoses can be attached to certain first stages. I've seen mix and match reg/octo/console setups and I find this hard to believe. I had the distinct feeling he was trying to influence the sale of certain more expensive gear. What do ya'll think?

Any confirmation or rebuttal of this information will be appreciated.

While their is a little truth to it, mostly its BS. There are a couple of different thread sizes that obviously must be the same and you can't use a console (HP) hose in place of a second stage hose (LP) but for the most part you can swap around as you like. A pressure gage is a pressure gauge, it does not matter who made it (or more correctly who has their name on it). Second stages are a little more complicated because some use a different low pressure than others. If memory serves me, Posidion regs use a lot higher IP than most other second stages so no, it can't be used on a first stage that has a lower IP. In other words, IF the intermedient pressure is the same for a first and second stage, sure you can use the 2 together.....At least my Zeagle first and second stages don't seem to mind my Oceanic console and my Mares octo. :)