ScubaPro

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Piccola

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi All, I'm sorry if this has been already asked and answered. I am new to the board and was a bit excited to find it! I am just starting out and am thinking of selecting either the scubapro mk25 or the mk11/mk17. I plan on only doing recreational dives in waters around 55-65 F, (off the coast of MA). Some of my LDS said the mk11/17 would be fine and less expensive but here is the deal while others suggested the 'upgrade'. Will I notice the benefits of 'balanced' breathing for my dive conditions? Also, I read elsewhere that if the piston type (mk25) fails, it will freeflow where as the diaphram (mk11/17) will not.

Also: Integrated weight systems or not. The bcd's are less without it and it seems a weight belt is easier to manage.

Thanks in advance for replies!
Piccola

Welcome to the board.

The Mk 17 is enviromentally sealed, the Mk 11 is not. The seal has cold water and sediment (contaminated/ dirty water) advantages. If the delta in cost is minimal to you, I don't think you can go wrong with a Mk 17. This reg will suit your needs now, and i doubt it would be a 1st stage you would outgrow (no dive info in your profile, so i made an assumption)

Weight integrated is nice... very nice :)

Shall we start the countdown of how many replies before someone suggests BP/W?

undefined:
Weight integrated is nice... very nice :)

Shall we start the countdown of how many replies before someone suggests BP/W?