Cruising...need advice on snorkeling/freediving locations...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Wojo

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi all. I'm relatively new to freediving and have found this forum to be a great source of information. :)

We're cruising in December to the following locations:

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Casa De Campo, Dominican Republic
Labadee, Haiti (Royal Caribbean's private port)

I'm looking for snorkeling/freediving location recommendation for these ports. Any recommendations on beaches or charters would be greatly appreciated. :) :crafty:

Thanks in advance.

Dave

A few years ago I did a shore excursion with Royal Caribbean. I believe it was in St. Thomas.
I had a blast interacting with all the fish and plan to dive there soon. It was my first salt water exposure!

I just so happened to work on a day sail boat that took snorkelers off Royal Caribbean ships to a great snorkel spot on St. Thomas. Check out The Doubloon or Dancing Dolphin (same company) - you'll have an absolute blast. I worked on both boats for a little over a year and still fill in during my off time inbetween charters (I know work on a charter sail boat). They go out to a small island just south of St. Thomas called Buck Island to an area called Turtle Cove. I must have been to this spot well over 500 times and have always seen at least one sea turtle. There's also a pretty decent reef there, as well.