Is this a good package for a starting diver

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

PaulD

Reaction score
I'm new to all of this so I'm going to ask some advice on gear. I've looked at a Zeagle Stilleto but didn't like the weight system in it so this is what I'm looking at now.

A ScubaPro BlackHawk BC
ScubaPro Air2
Scubapro MK25/600
Suunto Gekko

Is this going to be a good starting point for me?

Where will you be diving? How often? What are your goals? Lots of questions to consider when you go looking into a set of gear.

A good LDs should discuss all of this with you before making any recommendations.

I'll be diving in Jacksonville to Savannah mostly but will also be diving in the keys and south Florida a few times a year. As far as goals I just want to dive, lobster and shot fish. I'm not in for Tech diving or anything like that. I never plan on going over 120.
We discussed it today and this is what we put together just wanted a few other opinions.

Best advice I can give you is to Shop around to make sure that you're getting what you need and that you know why each piece of equipment is right for you. Don't get too carried away by brand names.

For exam[ple, look at the Atomic SS1 over the SP Air2 - the Atomic has distinct advantages over the Air2.

try out as many your gear and make sure you like it, especially air2. i thought i wanted one until i used my friends BC who had one on it and i hated it! but some do like it, choose what you feel comfortable with.

What don't you like about the Zeagle weight system?