Newbie Monterey weighting question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Hinalo

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I'm a novice with only two logged dives in hawaii, where I wore a 3 mm shorty, had an Al 80 tank, and was weighted maybe just a teeny bit light at 16lbs. I am 6'5" and 250 lbs. This is my total diving experience up to now.

But I want to dive in Monterey, with basically the same tank, but probably with a 7mm farmer john wetsuit with a half mil skinsuit, bibbed hood, gloves and 7mm booties. I know I'm going to need a lot more weight, maybe in the 35 - 40lb range, but with no experience up here in the cold water, I'm a little uneasy not having a good idea of how much weight to try.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Hey H,
I would recommend going out with a local DM first time out... maybe one of the shops close to the water (in Monterey) that knocks out some of your rental and logistics issues. As far as weighting goes it'll be easier to add and subtract weight and try different types of BC's and fins all in one day.
I'll let some of the DM's and Instructors make a guess to your starting out weight.... See you around the Breakwater.

Ben

Maybe a refresher course in cold water diving?