Oceanic computers, concerned?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

SeaFlea

Contributor
Reaction score
Looking for some advice. I've been diving for several years with an Oceanic Prodigy with no problems. But I need to upgrade to more modern / nitrox capable computer and had sold myself on the Oceanic Versa Pro. However, I've read several articles and read several post on the board that give me doubts as to the safety of the Oceanic algorithum. My profile; male, 42 yrs, good health, a bit over-weight, into reef photography, seldom dive deeper than 80 ft..
Even though my dive profiles are less stressful than most do you think I need to be concerned about a liberal algorithum like Oceanics? I have been impressed with the literature on Uwatec's SmartPro computer and more attention paid to microbubbles.

One side of me says "mid 40's, why not be a little more careful, you never know". Likewise I never felt as though the Oceanic was too liberal a computer till I compared it to some newer computers, ie. Suunto.

I would appreciate whatever thoughts you might have.

If you look at PADI tables and compare it to the plan mode on every Oceanic computer...Versa, Pro, DataMax, even your prodigy I think you'll find them dead even. So, no I don't think you have anything to worry about. Just because it's more liberal, it's well within safe limits.