Fuji F31 vs F50

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sipadiver

Contributor
Reaction score
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi,

I'm relatively new to scuba diving and photographer. I love both and course I want to take some photos when I dive. (I dived at Dayang and Sipadan, roughly 20 dives in total)

I'm currently considering getting a good and appropriate camera for myself.

I heard good reviews about the Fuji F31 for its sensitivity to light. But its very very hard to find now. Fuji has come up with the F50 which has many bad reviews. And it seems it won't perform as well as the F31 underwater. Is that a fair statement?

A good shop has offered me the F50 + the original uw casing for $600 total. But ever since I started reading the reviews I dunno whether to pass the offer and go searching for the F31. But are the differences between the two cameras so great - that I should keep searching for the F31?

I could not find full reviews of all your camera models. Some of the consumer P&S camera models come and go too quickly.

Were you ever lucky to start out at Sipadan and Dayang.

Here are some reviews and previews of the cameras you are considering:

Fujifilm FinePix F31fd Digital Camera - Preview - The Imaging Resource!

Fujifilm FinePix F40fd Digital Camera - Preview - The Imaging Resource!

Fujifilm FinePix F50fd Digital Camera - Preview - The Imaging Resource!

Fujifilm FinePix F31fd Review: 1. Introduction: Digital Photography Review