Nitrox

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sue

Reaction score
I've just finished my Advanced Nitrox training and am curious about how many of you are into EAN?
If so, do you regularly dive with or the choice between air and Nitrox depends on your diving plan?

Sue

hi
im a uk tech instuctor and therefor use gas on most occasions,the basic rule of thumb is dont use it for shallow paddling as you will be wasting your hard earned dollars.
but anything over 20m it comes into play extended ndls etc.
take some time to practice shallow'ish before you venture deeper be comfy with everything before going deep.
any future problems hail me !!!

I'll be diving Nitrox this weekend - not so much for its increased bottom time or shorter surface intervals as to give me a little extra margin.. Between Friday and Sunday AM, I'll be on and off four different boats, with trips of 12, 4, 6, and 4 hours (scheduled - they're always a bit longer)- the dives will be a mixed bag of Nitrox, Wreck, OW, Deep and Night dives - all working dives for me, so I need all the help I can get.
Rick

Rick,

Be sure to post a report (with photos if possible) about your dives when you get back!

--Michael

I use nitrox for dives below 60 feet and above 130 feet. If used shallower there's not much results for the extra cost (as stated above). Used deeper and your mix has to be pretty weak in order to avoid a ppo above 1.4.

Seems that not so many divers actually use Nitrox. In here, its the same...