Any suggestions on storing gear?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

aubie85

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hey guys,
I am a newbie and I just received my first set of gear :D
Sherwood Solaris Women's Warm Ensemble W/Wetsuit,Bag Plus - Online SCUBA Gear

I live in the midwest and I'm not ready yet to brave cold water, so now it is time to put it away until March when I go to Cozumel. The big question now is how do I store my gear? :confused:

I also have some other considerations:
-Is storage in the basement(climate controlled) okay? :confused:
-Can I keep all of my gear in a large plastic Rubbermaid bin(assuming my gear is dry and clean), or should there be adequate ventilation? :confused:

Thanks guys, I am sure this is a concern for many new divers or divers who have recently purchased gear for the first time. As I wait for responses, I will be basking in the scent 'new scuba gear'. (That should be a car air freshener scent!)
Neoprene and rubber, ooooooh yeaaaah!
Take care!
Aubrey:blinking:

There are many ways you can store your gear and keep it safe. Your basement should be fine. Keep it out of direct sunlight. It's generally best to hang your wetsuit if you can, but if not try to store it rolled up. That will prevent creases from forming in the neoprene.