PDA

View Full Version : Are there alligators in springs?

ScubaIvan
November 20th, 2007, 04:56 PM
Hello all. I am still pretty new to diving and not the most knowlegable in wildlife. My questions is are there alligators in springs that we go diving in (i.e. Ginnie, Alexander, Rainbow, etc.) Is it too cold for them they are reptiles and are cold blooded. How do we go about avoiding them any suggestions or thoughts. Has anyone come across one? *GULP*

Thanks.

chickdiver
November 20th, 2007, 05:07 PM
Often, yes.

xiSkiGuy
November 20th, 2007, 05:17 PM
There was one in hanging out at Peacock earlier this year. It was a little creepy to finish your dive and see it looking at you 10 feet away.

One of the Park Rangers claimed that snorkelers had been petting it! :11: Needless to say they relocated it.

LiteHedded
November 20th, 2007, 05:27 PM
the answer is YES

:)

Damselfish
November 20th, 2007, 05:30 PM
bet those aren't the answers you wanted to hear. ;)

eandiver
November 20th, 2007, 06:47 PM
In Florida there is a chance for an alligator in any body of water.
The more popular and crowded springs ( Ginnie) have fewer or none than the lesser visited springs (Peacock) but there still may be a gator around even with crowds (Alexander). The vast majority of them will leave you alone if you do the same.

Spring time is mating season and they become more aggressive. I have come across several while river diving and kayaking and never had a problem.

Always buddy up with a slower diver......it gives you the edge. :)
Swim with a lot of people.......takes the gator longer to decide so again you have the edge. :)

Surelyshirly
November 20th, 2007, 06:57 PM
I asked this same question when I started diving and here is what I was told