New tech reg suggestions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bmoore_cave_diver

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Ok,
Time for a new tech reg again. I have been a die hard scuba pro fan for 25 years and used to service this brand back in the 90's. I need a replacement for my aging MKV :wink:
I have just converted my Mk25 to din but it is a few years old and I want a brand new one for my two post manifold.
Suggestions? apeks, scuba pro poseidon? I want a new first and second stage, din and it needs be extremely reliable (gotta take it to 200-300 feet and into caves) and breath well at depth. Poseidon is tempting but I am worried about parts, heard good things about apeks but have never worked on one or breathed off one. Well, I know the ole scuba pros like the front or back of my hand.

Any suggestions folks? It is to be used in fairly warm water, North West Florida but deep.

For warm water - ScubaPro Mk 25
For cold water - ScubaPro Mk 17

Either will give you plenty of air. The Mk 25 give you slightly better hose routing. The MK17 is more resistent to icing in very cold water and is a few less $$$.

If you are interested in servicing your own regs, try the Dive Rites - you can get the service kits with no trouble.

I agree that either the Mk 25 or Mk 17 would work great with the Mk 17 being preferable in cold or dirty water.