Canon A 720 IS for Cozumel trip - good choice?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

peteetah

Registered
Reaction score
I am thinking of buying the Canon A 720 IS for my upcoming trip to Cozumel. I am switching to digital, giving up the old Nikonos III. I will be in fairly clear water, not deeper than 40 feet. Most of my pictures will be taken while snorkeling. I would like decent pictures, not like the kind I would get from disposable cameras. However, I am not a professional photographer!

Have worked on buoyancy control, and steadiness on previous trips, and hope to get some better photos than in the past.

Have researched posts, and many say that natural light and white balance control should produce good pictures.(In 40 ft. of water, or less) Other posts say that the Canon housing has a diffuser built in, and that as a package should work quite well.

Am I on the right track? Any suggestions for similar equipment in this budget range?

I am thinking of buying the Canon A 720 IS for my upcoming trip to Cozumel. I am switching to digital, giving up the old Nikonos III. I will be in fairly clear water, not deeper than 40 feet. Most of my pictures will be taken while snorkeling. I would like decent pictures, not like the kind I would get from disposable cameras. However, I am not a professional photographer!

Have worked on buoyancy control, and steadiness on previous trips, and hope to get some better photos than in the past.