Out of Curiosity

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Coll

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I'm relatively new to diving and have never done any underwater hunting of any form, nor have I ever talked to someone who has and I was just curious as to what the draw is? Do you eat everything that you catch? I love eating sea food but couldn't imagine catching it myself (I know this is a weird disconnect). I've never hunted on land other than just fishing with a pole. It seems strange for me to see a beautiful fish swimming and then shooting it. I understand that I'm essentially a hypocrite (eating seafood but not necessarily being pro-hunting) but that is just how I feel. Anyway, without any judgment on you guys or your hobby, what do you enjoy about underwater hunting?

Understand the dilemma. I used to hunt up until the mid 1970's but it was strictly for food. I stopped hunting (underwater and topside) and taking back then, but not out of any moral or ethical objections to it. I still eat what my friends and dive buddies take and have nothing against those who spearfish as long as they follow the regulations and are not too blood thirsty (I've seen a number of those, usually newbies at it, who literally cry out "I'm going to kill something today."

...Do you eat everything that you catch? ....