newb question....what is RAW?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

terfmop

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I may be getting a new camera for U/W snapshots. I am leaning heavily towards the Canon A570IS. Someone mentioned that the A570IS can be 'hacked' to operate in 'RAW'. I've seen the term RAW thrown around in my short time in this corner of Scubaboard, but I'm not quite sure what RAW is (other than underdone meat). My question probably indicates I'm a rather novice photographer, as most of my pics are taken very casually

To a new photographer, or a guy like me who dives two-four times a year, RAW can be a life saver. After the dive you can easily adjust white balance, exposure value +-2 stops without screwing the picture up. The manipulation is done easily in a RAW converter program like the old RAWshooter or new programs. I've seen experts use Photoshop to change Jpegs in a similar fashion but I've never had the time or patience to go past simple adjustments of Jpegs. RAW is easy and it will bring color back to otherwise cyan filled photos and allow you to brighten the image up without introducing a lot of noise.