Teaching an old dog new tricks...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JSharp13

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I looked around on the forums, and really couldn't find anything that answered the questions I was looking for, so here goes...

I am a semi-pro photographer. I have done weddings and new babies, and have sold some macros and landscape. However, I am new to diving. Obviously, one of the things that really interests me is underwater photography.

Currently, I have a Canon Rebel XTI with an assortment of lenses, flashes, and filters. I haven't been able to find anything that hints to me that I would be able to use this camera effectively underwater. (I'm not sure I would want to take the chance anyway).

I am wondering if anyone can give me some advice on purchasing a camera (with housing included or available) that I wouldn't be disappointed with. RAW would be fantastic, but not necessary. I am looking for good color and a fairly good pixel size. Since I would like to take some pictures of animals, a minimal shutter delay is also important. I would like to stay around $500, but if I think it is worth it to spend a little more, I would be willing to.

I appreciate any help you guys can give. Please let me know if more info is required.