A diver's review of the Canon A570IS

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Medic0506

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
So, after much debate I decided to go with the the Canon A570IS with the Canon WP-DC12 underwater housing. For full specs and a good land review on the camera go here Canon PowerShot A570 IS Digital Camera - Full Review - The Imaging Resource!. But as for diving and underwater reviews with examples they were tough to find so here you go.

A quick sidenote. I am not a professional photographer or videographer. I have taken a couple photo classes and understand photography but I am, by no means, an expert.

Photo

So here's a few land based examples.

STB_0153.JPG

Using stitch assist you can create some cool panoramas.

barviewfb.jpg

Underwater the camera was just as easy to use as on land. The buttons are big and easy to push. All but one button is functional underwater and that button is a button used to send photos from your camera to a compatible printer so if you need to use this function underwater I think it might be time to reevaluate your dive plan. :D The white balance worked very well even if a white dive slate was not available to set the balance. I just pointed the camera at something remotely white and clicked set white balance and it worked quite well. Cool Shark pic.

IMG_02773.JPG

Some wider shots.

IMG_02084.JPG

IMG_02024.JPG