Sea & Sea MX-10 w/ YS-40A strobe - GOOD or BAD?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sharkdiver_Mac

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm a newbie just getting started in UW photography. I've found a local photo shop that is selling a Sea & Sea MX-10 35mm Underwater Camera Kit w/YS-40A Strobe for $150.00. Price seems fine, but is it a good camera/strobe??

I know that I'll eventually go digital, so are there other options out there in a $300-$400 price range for camera & housing? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks for the help.

I don't think that you can put "$300" and "good" in the same sentence when you are talking about an underwater camera set up. I guess it all depends on your definition of "good."

On the other hand, $150 is a super cheap price for your first set up. It will give you some hands-on experience with an underwater camera and strobe. When you get frustrated with its limitations, you'll have enough experience to decide on your upgrade to a real underwater camera/strobe.

In my opinion, though, film cameras are totally obsolete for underwater photography. Underwater photography is a bit tricky at first (even for experienced photographers). Digital gives you immediate feedback regarding your exposure settings and technique, which allows you to reset the camera to get a better and better images immediately.