looking for camera housing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sea-mac

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
hi all
I'm new to underwater photography, so I'm looking to get started using a simple point and shoot I already have - a Nikon Coolpix 3700. I'm not ready to jump in with gearing up my Nikon D80 yet.
Since this is an old model, Nikon and Fantasea no longer sell the housings they used to sell for it. Does anyone out there have a used Fantasea (CP-3.7) or other housing that would let me use the Nikon cp3700 down to about 30-40m ?

here's hoping; happy diving

Fraser

heard back from Fantasea, and this housing was not commercially available.
So if, like me, you were hoping to get started underwater with your cp3700, I'm afraid we'll have to take the plunge and shop for something new.
Any tips out there for good compact starting setups (not dslr yet; advise to have strobe possibilities if diving to about 100ft, zoom or fixed etc ?)

thanks
Fraser

It's kind of hard to recomend anything without more info on your needs. for example how serious you hope to get with the system and what your budget is. Check out the sticky by Alcina (if you haven't already) for some great tips on what to look for in a UW camera system -> LINK.