Best BC for the Buck

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sloloco

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Yes, I'm a noob as we call 'em on my car forums. I did a search on here and saw some great answers somewhat related to my topic. I felt instead of thread robbing though, I would start my own :wink:

I am new to diving and am hitting the ground running. The first big purchase I would like to get is my BC. My budget is on the low side only because I know I will end up getting nicer the more I dive and with several friends getting into the sport I know I'll have no problem passing on my first-time buys.

I have found several models in my price range from the Sheerwood Silhouette to the Oceanic Oceanpro and Aeris Atmos XT. So many choices, so little time (yes, I'm tired of hiring out sketchy rental gear). I like jacket style more so than back inflate.

About me: I'm 6' 215# and broad shouldered.

Thanks in advance!

Let the opinions fly...you might wish you didn't ask...hahaha...

Good Luck

You should look at this orange beast!
Rip Tide BCD (Very Orange!), BCDS: Men, ScubaToys, Rip Tide BCD (Very Orange!)

Seriously, I think you should talk to Scubatoys and see what they can do for you.

Out of the three you mentioned, I would say the Atmos XT. But you should really try them on, if you can, and see what fits you the best. That's really what it will come down to.

Good luck!

:zen: