Am I Happy with my course?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

svidlano

Contributor
Reaction score
I really don't know. I had a NAUI OW course last summer. It lasted five days. We had six dives in the bay, and four more boat dives.
Since then I made five more dives (one river dive, and four boat ones).
Everything seems OK, we have covered everything but something is missing.

I've been climbing for many years know, and can do knots with one hand in my sleep. I know equipment, I know what and why. If I do something in a way that is not recommended by instructors then I know why they are recommending it, and why I choose not to do it that way.

In diving that is what I miss. Equipment is still strange to me, and changes every time I dive (I have to rent). A lot of questions remained unanswered. I have downloaded US Navy Diving Manual and found many answers there.

My LDS gives me a chance to use a pool once a week virtually free of charge (yearly fee approx 30$)

What surprises me is that there are no other divers. Nobody is trying to improve his/hers skill. Last time I tried to clear my mask while floating/hovering instead of kneeling. First time it was disaster. Then I realized that I had stopped breathing and therefore surfaced. Next time was much better.

So my question is - what is wrong with diving/divers? Nobody wants to learn, nobody wants to improve.

Thx for comments
:confused:

Can it be it is still winter and people wait until the water is a bit warmer?