Good women's BC?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Bit of a noob here. I might finally be able to afford some gear and I'm looking into BCs and not sure where to start.

I have a somewhat bizarre dive history; I'm halfway through my divemaster classes but I've still only had about 50 dives; yeah, pretty much as many as you need for the classes themselves :p Sadly my diving has been hindered by my severe lack of funds (grad student turned teacher = broke).

So all my diving thus far has been in crappy rental gear, which makes it hard to get comfortable with gear... try perfecting buoyancy when you're in a different drysuit and BC every week!

As is the case with rentals, I've only dove in men's stuff. And I'm wondering, does it make that much difference to have a women's BC? Sorry, but I hate back inflates...at my rate of diving I don't think I'll be diving doubles or tech diving anytime soon, although I do dive a drysuit. So I'm pretty much looking at jackets.

So just looking for any advice on women's gear (if it matters), or general advice for getting my first BC.

Do a search for "Bella". its a Female contoured BC by ScubaPro, my wife has the Bella and its REALLY awesome.

I have another post that should pop-up in the search with some differences between hers and mine (NightHawk male BC)

My wife has the Mares Kaila, it a very comfortable jacket bcd, she loves it. Where are you located, sounds like Europa.