Need a dive computer

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am looking for a computer to use for Nitrox. I am very new to diving and pretty old so I need one that has LARGE numbers on the display. I'd like to be able to switch gases during the day so I would like one that has the ability to change to different Nitrox blends.

I have a friend who is a dive master and he suggested the Suunto Vyper. I have a few questions about the Vyper. What is the difference between the Cobra and the Vyper? What about the Vyper 2 or Cobra 2 models? Am I gaining anything going to these? I have hunted the internet and am confused by the differences.

Open to other suggestion...my dive shop is pushing hard for me to buy the one they carry (probably three, one for the son and wife too), but I'm not too sure about it, as I am having a hard time reading the display. I am open to suggestions.

Thanks,

For the money, the nitek duo is a great choice. With gas switching and such, you can keep that computer until you start getting into trimix (and it works as a bottom timer even then). You're talking less than $50 more for a computer that does waaaay more than the ones they're trying to sell you on.

All the nitrox computers out there will let you set your Nitrox PO2/F02 on a per dive basis.
So, if you only want/need to switch nitrox mixes between dives rather than switch gas
blends during the actual dive, you won't need a computer that supports multiple gases
or trimix.