How can I pressure test my Nikonos V?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

wiley

Reaction score
I know that subalert.com sells a device that is $250 PLUS $150 for a repair contract. There has got to be a way to use air pressure or vaccuum to find a leak on the surface. I'm a mechanical engineer so I can pretty much make anything once I have the idea. I could use any info if someone's already done it.

I use a quarter inch thick 12" pipe that is twenty inches long. I welded a 1/4" plate to the bottom. For the lid I used an port hole window from the local boat yard. Just cut an o-ring grove 1 inch from the bottom. Welded on two opposing handles and cut notches on both sides in a L shape.

Tap in a b/c hose fitting to the side and seal it up. Take a tank and your regulator, connect the b/c hose and turn it on. It will pressurize to about 135 PSI. If you fill the unit with water you should be able to watch where the water enters as it pressurizes.

To release the pressure turn off the tank and purge. or Install a screw valve in the tank and open it up.

For the camera why not use the same ideal only make a rectangle box with a lexan window that is sealed and locked by a compression lid. Pressurize and look for the leak.

Hallmac