Help with a big BCD?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TMJJS

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm new to diving (just got certified), but think I need to get my own BCD because of my size. I'm 6'2", weigh 315 pounds, have 51" chest and 48" waist.

During my open water dives I was using a 5XL 7mm wetsuit and a XL BCD which I could just barely get snapped. I was carrying 36 pounds of weights and could barely decend. I was carrying 20 pounds in the dumpable pouches and the rest in non-dumpable pouch and pockets. This was all in fresh water.

I went to Gander mountain and found the XL BCDs there fit much better and the XXL one were downright roomy and comfortable.

My questions:
1) Should I get a BCD with weight pockets or just use a weight belt in the future?
2) What BCDs have the removable double weight pockets on each side? I saw someone at the quarry wearing a BCD and when he pulled out the weight pockets there were two pouches mounted on the removable pocket on each side. I'm guessing this would allow me to carry 20 pounds on each side (2 5lb bags in each pouch - 2 pouches each side)
3) I'm going to travel (airplanes) for most of my diving (at least that's what I think now), so are there different types of BCDs that are better for packing?
4) Anything else I should be considering?

Thanks in advance for all the help!

How about a backplate system with pouches? I've seen them used on some of the larger sized divers.