Recommended place in Red Sea

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mesje

Registered
Reaction score
I would like to ask you, what is the best location in Egypt for diving, mostly if i want to see sharks. Dahab, Sharm, Hurghada, or Marsa Alam? I wouldn´t prefer very difficult places, because I have dived just few times so I am still a beginner. I have heard that in Elphinstone Reef in Marsa Alam is almost guaranteed to see sharks, but on the other hand that this place is not good for beginners. What is your opinion ?
I am also thinking about a diving safari, but dont know if there are also some safaris for beginners. I dont know also what to do if i get a „pharaoh curse“ on the boat – it could be more difficult to solve this problem somewhere in the sea.

Sharks are getting very rare now. You will be lucky to see any at all.

At Elphinstone there are oceanic whitetip sharks at the surface from october to december or so, or you will have to go deep to have even a slight chance to see reef sharks, greys, hammerheads and so forth. Deep diving at Elphinstone is definitely not for beginners.

A liveaboard safari is the best way to explre the Red sea. Not only will you visit more and better dive sites, but being on site before the day boats arrive increases your chances, however slim, of seeing pelagics.

The boats I've been on didn't mind having beginners along as long as it was known beforehand. You'll just have to stay close to the guide.