Vytec DS Info

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bonnie&Clyde

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey guys Im new to Diving. I am thinking of Picking up the Suunto Vytec DS. The store also carries the Suunto D9 but I am not sure if its worth the extra $800.

Just wondering if I could get your insight/thoughts.

Thanks

Are you sure you want a wireless system? How old are you? How is your eyesight?

I currently have a Cobra and a Vytec DS. I prefer the Cobra because of "coding" the Vytec DS (or, rather, not remembering to do so).

The D9 is just too small for my aging eyes.

Think about it before you plunk down that much cash at your stage of the game.

If you are new to diving the Vytec is over kill. Unless you are after the wireless feature. I use the Vytec as my general computer and as backup when doing technical dives involving multiple gases. I am not a fan of Suunto D6 & D9 for three reasons, as noted above small, the built in compass is not all that useful, and the buttons need to be squeezed requiring two fingers. Personally I think the Cobra (Not the Cobra 2) is a good all round computer. If you want something for your wrist, look at the Vyper (again not the Vyper 2).

If you can not tell I am not a fan of the new 2 series from Suunto with their built compasses, multiple mixes, attenuated algorithm. I think that it is more than what the average diver needs. Call me old school but the Cobra and Vyper are well rounded computers.