Phillip Island or Nelson Bay or...?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

escher123

Reaction score
I'm a novice diver and am planning on a trip to Melbourne in Feb next year. After getting responses to my previous posting, we're thinking GBR will be a bit far to get to. Are Philip Island or Nelson Bay (which are closer to Melbourne) any good for diving? Any good resorts (upto AUD 250-300) and dive centers that you can recommend? We're looking at non-liveaboards. Also wanted to know about what kind of marine life we can expect to see, visibility levels, currents, etc. Apart from Phillip Island and Nelson Bay, are there any other islands close to Melbourne where theres plenty of beach and the diving is good (and easy!)? :wink:

I'm a novice diver and am planning on a trip to Melbourne in Feb next year. After getting responses to my previous posting, we're thinking GBR will be a bit far to get to. Are Philip Island or Nelson Bay (which are closer to Melbourne) any good for diving? Any good resorts (upto AUD 250-300) and dive centers that you can recommend? We're looking at non-liveaboards. Also wanted to know about what kind of marine life we can expect to see, visibility levels, currents, etc. Apart from Phillip Island and Nelson Bay, are there any other islands close to Melbourne where theres plenty of beach and the diving is good (and easy!)? :wink: