I have just gotten a job in the Caribbean.. excited, scared!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dcamargo

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi everyone,

I have just gotten a job to start March 1st in the caribbean as a divemaster(Cartagena Colombia). We will be diving everyday in the islands. I am very excited as I am presently living in the interior (Bogota) on the mountains teaching English. I got my divemasters certificate about 2 years ago and this will be my first job as one. Im excited and scared at the same time (not very prepared).

I would like some advice or suggestions if you can give me as to what I should do. Should I study the open water book? advanced? divemaster? cd roms? which one to get to the nitty gritty stuff? anything else I should do? I have a plain cut divamaster certification...thats all. No nitrox, or specialties whatsoever. No equipment either (they know this) They have my resume so I guess they know about all this. Now I have 2 kids and a wife that will be joining me as sson as possible over there so you can imagine money is not so great either. I hope I wont have too many problems with this money issue as they I will be providing me with room and board within the scuba shop and getting lunch included. If i need to do my nitrox and other such things do you think they will certify me and then I will pay them back with work or later?