Why do you log dives?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bluebubble1995

Contributor
Reaction score
I've been diving for 15 years now and never logged a dive. Some of you brag about dive counts like you get a Gold watch at 1000 or something. What's the point? Is it for the insurance company because this is a business?

I googled it for grins and on an ehow.com vid the guy stated that "resorts want to see what kind of dives you have been on before they'll let you dive with them". WHAT A LOAD OF TURTLE POO! Never has anyone asked if I had a log book.:shakehead:

Well, Some courses that you shell out money to take require certain numbers of dives. Then there's always logging info. so you can check this stuff out for when you return to the site (yeah, I always do that). You can check out your air consumption at various depths over time. You can take a "Discover Local Diving" (or whatever) dive and have said instructor sign your log--even get a sticker. My older brother dived in the '60s, Mike Nelson style--log book then? Basically, it seems to be some thing that took hold in the '80s(?), is something else for you to buy, and is just what every body does today. Those really up to date log on their computers and ask what to do if they go to the Caribbean without a book. No-one's ever looked at my book, but dang, I keep it up to date. I got 123 dives in varied locations & depths. That's what it's for.

On cold winter nights, I enjoy reminiscing through my log of past dives, especially the warm ones! :)