What makes a successful dive shop?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jlbdiver

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I'm curious what people like, or dislike, about LDS's. Why are some successful and others not? Is it equipment, location, staff, an onsite pool, low prices, what?

A PADI Platinum Course Director told me it comes down to the instructor making learning enjoyable. As an instructor I appreciate that but there seems like there has to be more.

For me, it was a combination of location, great staff, a great dive group, prices and coffee always on that sold me on my LDS. (Not necessarily in that order)

Do a search on this one,
as it has definitely been
beaten to death.

You must be able to convince a lot of new divers to buy your over-priced products.

They ones that survive around here are in high-income communities. They sell Scubapro or Aqualung gear at full list price to people who don't have to shop for price. Training, travel and service are also priced for the "premium" customer.