Spearfishing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

_Kurt_

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I see there is no spearfishing section. Is this frowned upon? I have been diving off and on for almost 20 years and have just decided to try spearfishing. Are spearfishermen the bastard children of SCUBA?:wacko: I look forward to your replies.
Kurt

Unfortunately, yes. Spearfishing is the most ecologically sound method of harvesting food fish, yet many divers regard it as rape of the ocean while eating fish caught in nets that scoop up everything in their paths. It's certainly not logical.

Post your spearfishing tips, questions, etc in Basic SCUBA Discussions.

Is that like animal rights activists sitting down to a steak dinner?
;-)

I must say the first time I witnessed spearfishing underwater I was shocked as that sort of thing is totally illegal here in Ireland. However I think it's a relatively kind way of killing fish. At least they usually die quickly.
Normal fishing is quite cruel I think, especially if the fishermen don't bother killing the fish right away and the poor thing is gasping in a bucket somewhere for hours.

although i do not spearfish and am no particular fan it does seem clear to me that it is potentially the most ecologically correct way of fishing as you consciously select an appropriate target and avoid any bycatch. however, given the drastic decline of all the big game fish i don't believe in spearing large fish just for their value as trophies. if you kill them, eat them.