PADI Divemaster Certification Advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hello All,
This is my first post to this site, so please bare with me. I am a 23 year old recent graduate who is need of a change. I have been diving for approximately 7 years now and have loved every minute of it.

I am in the beginning stages of considering leaving the US for a while to obtain my Dive Master cert and work somewhere as a DM.

Any advice would help. I have spoken with a few people who have taken similar routes and they have given me a number of different explanations. I am wondering if anyone on here has had first hand experience with any facilities and done their training and been exceptionally pleased. Most of diving experience has been in the carribean so far, however I am hoping to go towards South East Asia/ Australia in order to do my certification process.

Could anyone please give me any sort of advice?

Thank you.

Okay, first thing is get more dives in. Second, make sure you have some funds (for living as well as diving & courses). Thirdly, where ever you decide to go, talk to the local DMs & instructors. Can`t tell you nothing about South East Asia or Australia as I`ve only worked in the UK and Red Sea. One last thing, get more dives in. BOL