Nitrox/Titanium

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Gilligan V

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Good morning, I'm new to diving and starting to look at buying my own equipment. I plan on being cert. for Nitrox soon after my O/W. Im looking at a used SP MK25T/S600T and I seem to recall something about Titanium and Nitrox not being a good combination. Most of my diving will be in lakes and rivers in southern Ontario, Canada with a couple of trips south in the winter. Would this Reg. be a good choice? :coffee:

I have a Cressi ellipse titanium. I checked with the company support and they say that it is perfect for up to 40% oxigen
It is best if you could check with the manufacturer regarding the specific model you want to use

Bottom line:

Unless your regulator comes into contact with >40% oxygen, you'll be fine. Recreational nitrox mixes aren't going to negatively affect your regulator.

Hello,
yes, your past replies are correct.
Only when you would use a technical EAN mix (40%+)would you possibly have an issue.
Furthermore, it would most likely be associated with carbon based materials in the reg such as the hp seat, o-rings, carbon based lubricants, lp seat etc.
As far as I know, the titanium aspect would not be any more effected than chrome molybdemum, chome, brass, aluminum and so on, as 02 is corrosive.
As previously stated, check with the manufacturer
Ok, keep on diving

rebreathe