Hypothetical Accident Help

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AndyM

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I am posting in this thread because I don't know where else to post, so Mod if you need to move me no problem. I am a writer and am working on a novel. I decided for this one to mix my love of diving with my love of writing. But I need some help.

In the story line, a person is trying to stop work being done on a wreck by messing with their on board air compressor, resulting in bad air for a group of divers. For those of you with much more experience than myself:

1. What could someone do to an air compressor that would allow it to still run, but would result in contaminated air. (I don't need enough details so that someone could actually do this, but enough so that my writing isn't technically incorrect)

2. What would the contaminated air taste like? (I know we're trained that if air tastes "funny" to not use it. But can anyone describe "funny?"

3. How soon would a diver feel physical effects?

4. How severe would the physical effects be?

5. At what range to shore and what severity does the Coast Guard get involved in something like this?

Thank you for your help!!

interesting questions. i'm in no way an expert but spent last night in a holiday inn express.