Drysuit buoyancy

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

on_two_wheels

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Any rule of thumb in initial weight settings? Was diving a Seaquest Pro QD bcd, 7mm with a 3mm vest. Now I'm switching to a Whites Fusion drysuit and alum bp with Oxycheq 30lb wing. I was diving with about 14-16 lbs with the former (with a Faber 95). I have no idea what weight to start with. Suggestions?

I have no experience with the fusion, but switching from a 7mm to a TLS350, I started with 4 pounds extra and ended up with 2 extra. Aluminum BP, 16 pounds total now.

I would recommend ankle weights for the first couple dives if you have or can borrow some - eventually you'll ditch them but they helped me with the leg bubbles which are disconcerting at first.

Any rule of thumb in initial weight settings? Was diving a Seaquest Pro QD bcd, 7mm with a 3mm vest. Now I'm switching to a Whites Fusion drysuit and alum bp with Oxycheq 30lb wing. I was diving with about 14-16 lbs with the former (with a Faber 95). I have no idea what weight to start with. Suggestions?

Is there some reason you can't go and do a weight check?

You are changing two variables at once, drysuit and changing your BC to a BP&Wing. When I changed from a wetsuit to a dry suit with a 300 gram undersuit (major source of bouancy) I had a net change of 6 pounds. Your results may vary. A buoyancy check is of course recommended.