Drinking underwater (SCUDA??)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
So, I love diving and the only thing that drive me nuts it the whole drymouth thing. I feel like my mouth is made out of sandpaper sometimes when I am diving. It gets to the point where I have to let a little seawater into my mouth just to make it easier. I had seen something called a scuda here and there and i was wondering if anyone could explain to me what the heck this thing is.

Second, and biggest. As an engineer i have been toying with the idea of using some sort of hydration system underwater. I have a camelbak with a pouch that would mount very nicely to my Raider Bc very nicely. And, from what I remember of hydrodynamics in engineering school... As long as there is no air in the camelbak bladder the compression of the water both in and outside of the bladder should be the same so there should be no or very little fluid movement between the two. If i was correct and it did hold the water with no problems at depth then it would simply be a question of changing my water tube for my reg, taking a quick sip, and going back to the reg. Any thoughts? So, what I am wondering is has someone already tried this?? does it work? If not... Why?

THanks

Jon
:dork2: