General equipment questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Pirates Dream Two

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Hi all,
I am new to this and have a few questions. I at first wanted to get a mask, snorkel, fins set up so I can dive on my boat and scrape barnacles off the prop. Now I'm thinking I would like to get a mask that will also be suitable for diving as I may pursue a cert here at some point. I know that I need to go to a dive shop and try on masks, etc, due to fitting issues, but I'd like to know if there are some brands to check out first, and some to stay away from due to lack of quality, etc, before I go shopping. I'm not looking to spend a fortune.....just good usable, expect good performance and a decent lifespan gear!! I do wear contact lenses.

I appreciate any suggestions!!!

Thanks,
Don

Winchester,Virginia

There is a good shop in Woodbridge, it is called Woodbridge SCUBA. Ed (the owner) is a good egg and will treat you well. You will probably be spending between 60 and 100 bucks for a good mask. There are also several other shops in the area. Including Fairfax, Sterling, and others. Try TUSA, Mares, Cressi, SCUBA Pro, Dive Rite. THat should give you a good start.

Go ahead and do your research if you like, but I will knock two of those out for you:

Cressi-Sub "Big Eyes" Black Skirt Mask

Cressi-Sub "Big Eyes" Black Skirt Mask

ScubaPro Jet Fins, Black

ScubaPro Jet Fins, Black