Pre-Dive Nerves

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubAfr33k

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I'll cut to the chase here, I'm pretty new to spearfishing and the idea of aggressive sharks has gotten me into a bit of a rut. Normally, sharks don't bother me in the slightest; I've seen dozens of them and I've enjoyed every encounter I've had so far. However, with dead fish hanging off the end of my pole spear I might start to look like an appetizing meal instead of a casual passer-by.

Needless to say, I'm getting kind of nervous about an upcoming spearo trip, and I'm finding that the only thought running through my head is "what if?" What if I encounter an overly-curious bull? What if he's aggressive? What if I'm too much of a wuss to defend myself properly? "What if" is such a dangerous phrase: it can make even mild dangers look like near-certainties, so what is the danger really? When I'm thinking in "what ifs" I can't make an accurate assessment, so I'll leave that task up to you.

I'm not used to this feeling; I'm known to be a very collected diver, methodical in my set up and relaxed in my movements, but I need some advice to help calm my nerves about this new undertaking. Thanks in advance for any help you might offer me, it is greatly appreciated.

Michael Laughlin