Drysuit Auto-Exhaust Valve

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sffrenchman

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi everyone:

I have a Whites fusion dry suit and have a question regarding the auto-exhaust valve. Even if I set the valve to the maximum venting setting, I found that I have to vent manually as it seems that appropriate venting does not occur early enough or quick enough if I just rely on the auto-exhaust. As background, I am a novice diver (35 dives since December 08) and around 15 dives in a drysuit. Also note that I do not use the suit for buoyancy control (I use my BC).

I would very much appreciate any comment or tip that you could share with me to improve my drysuit diving skills.

Thank you for your help.

If you don't use your suit for buoyancy, you won't have a ton of air in there. That means that the pressure inside the suit will not be great enough to escape through the vent, which means you'll have to vent it yourself (do some sort of variation of the "chicken wing" with your left arm). You have may have noticed that if you ascend and dump air out of your wing, the air will expand in your suit....once it expands enough, it will vent out of the dump valve on its own (assuming the vent is located at the highest point).