Help out a new spear gunner

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
i just bought a JBL 27" Mini Carbine speargun and ill be using it off NJ, DE, MD and in the delaware river...also possibly in lake wallenpaupack which has striper and musky in it. other fish i will target is bluefish, fluke, and striper in the ocean (around jettys and near the surf because i am new to this and will stay near shore).

i was wonering if this is a good choice. i got the gun used for $40 from a man who lost a leg..the gun is in near new condition and he gav me 2 replacement band wih it. also, the gun has one band on it...would i be able to ad another band to add distance and power if i put more lineon the gun?

thnks

go with two bands you can always only cock one, but will want that extra power. also get a break away tip

the model i bought has one band on it, and is displayed with one band on the site. can i put 2 bands on the gun eventhough it is shown with just one?

i just bought a JBL 27" Mini Carbine speargun and ill be using it off NJ, DE, MD and in the delaware river...also possibly in lake wallenpaupack which has striper and musky in it. other fish i will target is bluefish, fluke, and striper in the ocean (around jettys and near the surf because i am new to this and will stay near shore).