Panama City Report - Aug 22/23, 2009

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mike_s

Contributor
Reaction score
Had some great dives with Pat Green ([user]patmygreen[/user] of Panama City Dive Charters this past weekend.

This is my first time out with Pat and we had a great experience. I'll definately book a trip with him again. I'd reccomend him to anyone else who wants to have a great trip.

Aug 22 - Dive 1: - USS Chippewa
the USS Chippewa was a 205 tug built in 1942. It was used as a tug and then when retired, was used by the US Navy for explosive training. She was sunk in 1990, about 11 miles from St Andrews Pass. Depth to the sand is about 100'. She is still intact, but her wheel house has fallen apart and the rear boom/mast has fallen off and is lying right beside the ship. The port side of the ship has almost no relief from the bottom as the sand runs right up to the gunwale.

Lots of nice fish on the wreck, including a 4-5 ft Goliath Grouper that was hiding in the decks.

water temp was about 82f and vis was about 40-50ft.

chippawaw.jpg

Aug 22 - Dive 2 - Bridge Span #14
. one of the several old Hathway Bridge Spans that are sunk off Panama City. (FYI, #14 is the one closest to the Black Bart.)

I haven't been to this site in about 2-3 years, and since my last visit someone has placed a small concrete statue in the road bed.

Aug 23rd - Dive 1: - The Red Sea