Underwater Nausea

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

minex

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm fairly new to scuba diving. I got certified in 2007 and have been on a total of 6 dives. However, as I start to hit the open waves more and lengthen my dives, I've noticed that I have a pretty severe issue -- underwater nausea. I can scuba dive for about 25 minutes before the sickness hits in. I do have pretty bad motion sickness. I can't read, look at my iphone, or do anything else similar while riding in a car. Hell, I can't even sit in the back seat of a car for twenty minutes before wanting to puke. Too many amusement park rides will make me feel sick too.

Anyway, after being underwater for about 25 minutes, I have the same feeling that I get when riding in the back seat of the car. My stomach starts to churn and I end up puking.

My most recent dive was on Saturday. It was a lake here in Colorado and the water was fairly calm. The first 20 minutes went great. At 25 minutes, my stomach started to churn. Luckily, we were only about 18 feet underwater, so I gave my partner the signal to surface. Once we did, I hurled like there was no tomorrow. I actually felt like crap and asked if we could just swim back to the entry point. After 1 minute of swimming, I felt good again, so we went back under for about another 20 minutes before surfacing at the entry point.

As I got out of the water, I felt the nausea again and hurled for about a minute. The motion sickness stuck around for the next couple of hours.