Tide Tables and dive time determination

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

spitaxe

Reaction score
Hello,
I recently moved to Washington state and have some questions regarding proper determination of safe dive times in relation to tide charts. Can someone explain to me if it is better to begin a dive at high, low, or slack tides?

I am fairly new to ocean diving and would like do a few shore dives in my area in relatively shallow waters (45 ft). I was told by a dive shop that the best time to shore dive in admiralty inlet is 6:00 p.m. (on the 13th of Sept 2009). I understand that this is probably great advice, but I have a hard time believing that this is the only time available to do a safe dive in this particular spot. Is there a way I can use a tide table or tide chart to determine the safest times to do the dive so I'm not swept to Canada by currents? I have heard that the currents can be very dangerous in this area if you do not pay attention to the tide.

Thanks for any help

I can help you if you'll tell me what dive site you are talking about. More than likely the short answer is you need to dive a current intensive site at slack current.

Give me the dive site and I'll answer more fully. By the way neither slack nor high or low tide are at 6pm at Admiralty Inlet on the 13th.

I assume that you are probably in Port Townsend but I need more info.

Last edited: