Friction or something else?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

deadbilly

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi there,

I'm pretty new to this, with only 8 dives, so I'd appreciate the input. I've noticed a strange thing the last couple times I've gone out and. Starting the day after the dive, the toes on my left foot are incredibly sore for a day or two. Part of this definitely seems to be blistering from friction (possible incorrectly sized boot), but beyond that there seems to be pain through the whole toe, and walking on them hurts a lot more than just blisters. The feeling is as though there were rubber bands around the base of the toes and circulation was being severely restricted. Physically, they get a little swollen and red. It seems as though I'd notice something like this on the day of the dives if it was just from friction, and what's more, the boots and fins seem to fit just fine. Has anyone else experienced something like this? Am I getting some sort of squeeze in the toes of my fins? Obviously I'd like to get to the source of this so I can prevent it from happening in future! Is it possible there's something decompression and/or circulation related happening here? It seemed worse the couple days after a day with dives to 80+ feet than the previous week with shallower (~55-60ft) dives.

thanks,