What BC to Buy ?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

skeeters

New
Reaction score
Hi all,

As a newbie I'd like your thoughts on what sort of BC to buy. I originally had the idea of a HUB ( Mares Avantgarde ) but after searching and finding the negative feedback towards the HUB have decided against it. I have shortlisted 1 or 2 BC's that I quite like the idea of :

Scuba Pro Glide 3000
Scuba Pro GlideTek
Scuba Pro Pro Pac BCD

Now here's what I'm looking for that may help in selection :

Reasonably light weight as 99% of the time I'll be flying to dive destinations.
Cost isn't really a problem.
Preferably with an intergrated weight system.
Sport diving and recreational use only.

Many thanks,

Skeeters...

skeeters

Looks like you are sold on SP so go to your LDS and try all three. Anyone elses opinion at this point is really useless since they may have a different body type and look for different options in a BC. Your dive shop should find a way for you to try them all in a pool or at their next outing.

With your listed likes, you should know very quickly after you have tried all three. SP makes great stuff so you can't go wrong with that brand of gear.

PS - IMHO you are making the right choice to stay away from HUB. I don't believe they are in the same league of quality.

Thanks 5615mike.