New PADI IE OPINIONS

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Hey there Ron, as a PADI instructor I have to say that the IE should have been made more challenging. There were candidates whom went through my group to become Instructors who in my opinion should not have been able to. One guy in particular was at a Rescue Divers competance level in the water. Sad but true.

Hey, Guys!

I'm a PADI IDC Staff Instructor and my husband is a Course Director. Since my own IE in '94, PADI has done major revisions to the IDC twice, the most recent being this year. I believe they were addressing the same concerns you express, and thus revamped/strengthened the IDC.

Since neither of you indicate what level of Instructorship you hold nor how long you have been teaching, I cannot gauge how familiar you are with the IDC/IE per se. So here's a brief overview:

At present the IDC has very specific goals/criteria that the Candidate must pass and minimum scores that must be achieved for teaching confined water, open water, and knowledge development (academics). Although there have been no major changes in scoring criteria since the previous incarnation in the confined & open water teaching sections, knowledge development has been refined to include both traditional mod AND prescriptive teaching.

Watermanship skills are also assessed/scored; the 800 yard mask/fins/snorkel swim has been transferred from the IE to the IDC.